Skip Navigation
Welcome to Special Education
Dee Deitz

Palestine ISD Special Education provides specially designed instruction developed to support students with special education disabilities. The intent of the support services is to enable students to make progress in the general curriculum, to participate in extracurricular and nonacademic activities, and to be educated and participate with non-disabled peers to the maximum extent appropriate. 

Director:  Dee Dietz  dietz@palestineschools.org
-
Administrative Assistant:  Kay Hill  khill3@palestineschools.org 

-

Special Education Staff:

Assistive Technology Specialist: Kristina Anderson  kanderson1@palestineschools.org
Autism Specialist/Assistive Technology: Janet Lewis  jlewis@palestineschools.org
ARD Facilitator: Paige Boroughs  cboroughs@palestineschools.org
Educational Diagnostician: Millye Bailey  mbailey@palestineschools.org
Educational Diagnostician: Juli Durham  jdurham@palestineschools.org
Educational Diagnostician: Stormi Johnson  stormijohnson@palestineschools.org
Educational Diagnostician: Rene Thomason  rthomason@palestineschools.org
Educational Diagnostician: Robin Rose  rrose@palestineschools.org
Instructional Coach: Ann Paine  apaine@palestineschools.org
Licensed Specialist in School Psychology: Tiffany Wilbourn  twilbourn@palestineschools.org
Licensed Specialist in School Psychology Trainee: Kristen Davenport  kdavenport@palestineschools.org
Occupational Therapist: Claire Lierman  clierman@palestineschools.org
Paraprofessional to Diagnosticians: Veronica Porras  vporras@palestineschools.org
Parent Liaison: Freta Parks  fparks@palestineschools.org
PEIMS/SERS Clerk: Cathie Thorn  cthorn@palestineschools.org
Speech Pathologist: Holly Gonzalez  hgonzalez@palestineschools.org
Speech Pathologist: Kathy Williams  kwilliams@palestineschools.org
Speech Therapy Assistant: Suzie Reyes  areyes@palestineschools.org
Speech Therapy Assistant: Lindsey Burton  lburton@palestineschools.org
Transition Specialist/VAC: Sherry Villa  svilla@palestineschools.org


Office: PISD Administration Office, 1007 East Park Avenue.
Phone: 903-731-8033
Hours: 8 - 4:30 Monday through Thursday, 8 - 4 on Fridays
Summer hours: 7 - 5 Monday through Thursday

-

Child Find

    Palestine Independent School District is ready, willing and able to identify and serve all children with disabilities residing within its jurisdiction who are in need of special education and related services.  The district is responsible for identifying, locating, and evaluating children from birth through age 21, with known or suspected disabilities who reside in and/or attend school within the school district’s boundaries to determine whether a need for special education and related services exists. Child Find includes children who reside in group or nursing homes and/or who attend private or homeschools within the district’s boundaries regardless of place of residence.

    Any community member who is concerned with the welfare of a child may participate in the Child Find process. Child Find accepts referrals for children who may have a disability. Parent involvement and agreement is obtained prior to any further action. Information is confidential and the privacy of the child and parents is protected. Should an assessment be required, it is provided at no cost to the parent.  If you suspect or know of a child who has one or more of the following disabilities, please contact our offices.

    Special Education Services are available to eligible students ages 0-21 who may be experiencing difficulties in one or more of the following areas:

  • Auditory Impairment
  • Autism
  • Deaf/Blind
  • Emotional Disturbance
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Learning Disability
  • Non-Categorical
  • Orthopedic Impairment
  • Health Impairment
  • Speech and/or Language
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Visual Impairment

-

    Palestine ISD provides a full continuum of services for students who are eligible for special education. Services are carefully designed for the successful implementation of the each student’s Individual Education Plan (IEP) in the least restrictive environment (LRE). The intent of services is to enable students to make progress in the general curriculum, to participate in extracurricular and nonacademic activities and to be educated and participate with non-disabled peers to the maximum extent appropriate. Based on the individual needs of the student with disabilities, specially designed instruction is outlined in the IEP.

    Services, at no cost, are available to all eligible individuals regardless of the severity of their disability. For more information contact the Palestine ISD Special Education office at 903-731.8033.

Our Mission...
The Mission of Palestine Independent School District is to foster relationships that Excite, Engage, and Empower our students and community to achieve Excellence.

Copyright © Palestine ISD  2016. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM